## NEATH PORT TALBOT COUNTY BOROUGH COUNCIL

## **Education, Skills and Culture Cabinet Board**

18th October, 2018

#### Report of the Head of Transformation – Andrew Thomas

#### Matter for Decision:

APPOINTMENT OF LA GOVERNOR REPRESENTATIVES AT YSGOL CWM BROMBIL

#### Wards Affected:

Bryn and Cwmafan, Margam, Pelenna, Port Talbot, Taibach

#### **Purpose of the Report**

1. To appoint five LA Governor Representatives to the new permanent governing body of Ysgol Cwm Brombil.

#### Background

 Members will be aware that Ysgol Cwm Brombil opened as an allthrough 3 - 18 school on 1st September, 2018, replacing Dyffryn Comprehensive and Groes Primary Schools as one entity.

Members agreed in December, 2017, to the creation of an Instrument of Government, which created a permanent name for the school and an incorporation date when a permanent governing body would take office of 1st November, 2018. The temporary governing body would continue until this date in its current form when their role and function will then come to an end. The current LA Governor Representatives on the temporary Governing Body are: Cllr. Martin Ellis, Cllr. Rob Jones, Cllr. Rhidian Mizen, Cllr. Anthony Taylor and Cllr. David Whitelock.

Members will be aware that LA Governor Representatives are appointed by the Council in priority order of i) Elected Members representing wards in the catchment area of the relevant school or pupil referral unit; ii) Other Elected Members of the LA and iii) Persons who, in the opinion of the Council, would contribute to the well-being of the school of pupil referral unit. As Bryn and Cwmafan, Margam, Pelenna, Port Talbot, Taibach are the Wards that are the catchment area for Ysgol Cwm Brombil all elected Members in these areas have been asked whether they wish to be considered for appointment to the permanent governing body. Those that wish to be considered are (alphabetically):

Cllr. Rob Jones

Cllr. Dennis Keogh

Cllr. Rachel Taylor

Cllr. Rhidian Mizen

Cllr. David Whitelock

# **Financial Impact**

3. There is no financial impact associated with this proposal.

# **Equality Impact Assessment**

4. Having considered the Council's screening assessment guidance produced to assist the Council in discharging its Public Sector Equality Duty under the Equality Act 2010 it has been determined that the proposal within this report does not require an equalities impact assessment.

### **Workforce Impacts**

5. There are no workforce or staffing issues directly associated with this proposal although the permanent governing body will have responsibility for the employment of staff at the school.

# **Legal Impacts**

6. The recommendations contained within this report are in accordance with the Councils obligations set out in The New Maintained Schools (Wales) Regulations 2005.

## **Risk Management**

7. Should the recommendation to create the permanent governing body not be approved then the Council will be in breach of its statutory obligation.

# Consultation

8. Not applicable.

# Recommendations

- 9. That in line with approved policy Members are asked to approve the LA governor representatives for Ysgol Cwm Brombil as:
  - Cllr. Rob Jones
  - Cllr. Dennis Keogh
  - Cllr. Rachel Taylor
  - Cllr. Rhidian Mizen
  - Cllr. David Whitelock

### **Reasons for Proposed Decision**

10. To enable the Authority to contribute to effective school governing bodies.

# Implementation of Decision

11. The decision is proposed for implementation after the three day call in period.

# Appendices

12. Ysgol Cwm Brombil - Instrument of Government.

## List of Background Papers

13. Children Young People and Education Cabinet Board (Special) 2nd March 2016

CYPE 2nd March 2017

The New Maintained Schools (Wales) Regulations 2005:

http://www.legislation.gov.uk/wsi/2005/2912/contents/made

# **Officer Contact**

14. Kathryn Gilbert, Principal Schools Governance Officer

Tel: 763598

Email: k.gilbert@npt.gov.uk

#### Appendix A

#### **INSTRUMENT OF GOVERNMENT - COMMUNITY SCHOOLS**

1. The name of the school is:

Ysgol Cwm Brombil

- 2. The school is a community school.
- The name of the governing body is: Ysgol Cwm Brombil
- 4. The governing body shall consist of:
  - (a) Six parent governors;
  - (b) Five local authority governors;
  - (c) Two teacher governors;
  - (d) One staff governor;
  - (e) Five community governors;
  - (f) Headteacher (except at any time when he/she has given written notice to the clerk to the governing body that he/she chooses not to be a governor).
- 5. Total number of governors: Twenty (except at any time when the Headteacher has given notice as above that he/she chooses not to be a governor, when the total number of governors will be twelve.
- 6. This instrument of government comes into effect on 1st November, 2018.
- 7. This instrument was made by order of Neath Port Talbot Local Authority on 7th December, 2017.